Location

Castle of St John Visitor Centre
c/o Stranraer Museum
55 George Street
Stranraer
Dumfries and Galloway
DG9 7JP

Tel: 01776 705088

Email Museum

For more information Visit museum website


Opening Times

2nd June to 26th September 2015. Tue-Sat 10am-1pm & 1.30pm-4.30pm


Admission

Free admission.


Castle of St John Visitor Centre

Stranraer

The Castle of St John is a unique example of a medieval tower house which has been converted into a prison.

The Castle of St John is a unique example of a medieval tower house which has been converted into a prison. It was built in 1510 for the powerful Adair family. During the Killing Times in the 1670s it was used as a base for government troops and in 1820 it became the burgh jail. Film, models and reconstruction drawings tell the story of the building and one of the cells is now a children’s activity room.

NEW for this year costumed living history events. Visit the Castle and join our costumed interpreters for activities for all ages. First event will run over the Easter weekend, 3,4 and 6 April.

The Castle is open Tuesday to Saturday (10.00 – 13.00 and 13.30 – 16.30) from 2nd June to 26th September 2015. There is wheel chair access to the ground floor. The rest of the building is reached via a steep spiral staircase.

 

To ensure there has been no change to the opening times or details on this page, please check with the museum directly before visiting.