The Recognised Collections

Managed by Museums Galleries Scotland on behalf of the Scottish Government, the Recognition Scheme ensure Scotland’s most important collections are identified, cared for, protected and promoted to wider audiences.   

To date, 46 collections have been awarded Recognised status. These Recognised Collections are located in towns and cities across Scotland. From Orkney to Dumfries and from Dundee to Ayr, visitors are inspired by collections of remarkable historic and social significance.

You can explore the collections by region through the links below. Here you can find out more about the Recognised Collections and the museums in which they are held.

You can also download a list of the Recognised Collections.

Aberdeen & Grampian

Argyll & Bute

Dumfries & Galloway and the Borders

Dundee & Angus

Edinburgh & the Lothians


Greater Glasgow & Ayrshire

Highlands & Islands

Perth & Kinross

The new Museums Galleries Scotland site is launching soon.

View the new site and tell us what you think.