- About Us
- National Strategy & Delivery
- Skills & Training
- Research & Resources
- Scotland's Museums
Kinnaird Head was the first lighthouse to be built by the Northern Lighthouse Board in 1787. It is now a museum with a nationally important collection.
Kinnaird Head was the first lighthouse to be built by the Northern Lighthouse Board in 1787 and the only lighthouse to be built on top of a fortified castle. In 1824, the lighthouse was reconstructed inside Kinnaird Castle by Robert Stevenson, engineer to the Northern Lighthouse Board. Decommissioned in 1991, and maintained for the nation, with the help of Historic Scotland and Scotland’s Lighthouse Museum Trust, the original lighthouse and engine room are now preserved as they were the day the last keeper left. The Museum of Scottish Lighthouses boasts the largest and best collection of lighthouse lenses and equipment in the UK. Discover the unique story of the Stevenson family, lighthouse engineers to the world, in the Stevenson Gallery and the multi-screen audiovisual which tells the story of the lighthouse service in Scotland.
Other concessions available. Please visit the website.
1 April – 31 Oct
Mon – Sat, 10am – 5pm
Sun, 12 noon – 5pm
To ensure there has been no change to the opening times or details on this page, please check with the museum directly before visiting.
The Entire Collection cared for by Museum of Scottish Lighthouses is a Recognised Collection of National Significance to Scotland.